QR Codes and Layered Reality

Here is a QR Code to my website:
qr-code-website

QR Codes were fun to explore and I have so many new ideas about how to utilize them.  In the library, I think it would be perfect to pair QR codes with certain months, like September for Hispanic Heritage Month.  I could pull biographies about famous Hispanic Americans and then add a QR Code that links to the official Hispanic Heritage Month (https://hispanicheritagemonth.gov/).  I also didn’t know that QR codes can be dynamic and change where they direct you if you use Kaywa (http://qrcode.kaywa.com).  I would definitely change up the location on a weekly basis in the above example and link to videos and other resources.

I also think using static QR codes around the library could be useful to provide links to online databases, surveys, or my e-mail address so students, parents, and community members could quickly scan the QR code for access.

For augmented reality in the library, I think using Aurasma could be a really cool way for students to hear about books.  For example, you could use a book cover as a trigger to have the librarian or a peer appear to give their review and opinion of the book.  A perfect way to try and engage students to try a new book!

Another way to use virtual reality in the library could be to support users’ imaginations after hearing a story. Often in my classroom readers struggle with comprehension after reading a story, but “seeing” the story in virtual reality may help some learners comprehend what happened better because they were able to see it instead of just read it.

One thought on “QR Codes and Layered Reality

Add yours

  1. All great ideas but I especially love the use of the QR code with monthly activities. There are so many things that can be addressed each month and it would easy (and space saving) to use QR codes.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started